Skip to content

Top Ten Websites and Blogs on Italy

Here are my very favorite sites to get lost in and waste away hours.  I should know, I’ve done it!

10.  Ms Adventures in Italy, The Italian Blog, Juls’ Kitchen 

Italian cooking blog

Juls' Kitchen

Ok….so I couldn’t decide.  These blogs will fill you with stories, pictures and recipes all from writers living in Italy.

9.  I Borghi piu Belli d’Italia

I stumbled upon this site a few years ago.  It is Italian based but has an English option.  When I am planning a research trip I start here for villages that are gorgeous but not normally on the average American’s itinerary.

8.  Bell’Avventura

Amalfi Coast Blog

Bell'Avventura

This blog will make you want to pack your bags for the Amalfi Coast…. and never, ever leave.

7.  At Home in Tuscany

A blog from one of my favorite areas.  What I love most of all is that she makes you feel as if you were right there, literally at home in Tuscany.

6.  SlowTrav

This website has loads of information aimed towards travelers that are looking to experience Italy, not just complete a check list.  I like them so much that I also advertise here.

Umbria Blog

Umbria Lovers

5.  Umbria Lover’s

My home away from home is a little place in Umbria, so of course this blog caught my eye.  I continue to follow it because they find the absolute best hidden places and they are committed to showing the reader the real Umbria.

daily doses of Italy4.  Italian Notebook

There is no better way to start my day than opening up my email to find a tidbit of Italy in my InBox.  I encourage everyone to sign up to receive their daily articles.

3.  Rick Steves

The American travel guru.  I’ve been following him for almost twenty years, back when he worked out of a teeny office that had nothing but folding tables and his videos were filmed in his garage.

2. TripAdvisor

I start every research trip here.  This is a huge community of travelers who talk about, compare, rate and rave about places they have stayed.  This is a good forum to compare places you want to stay and get honest opinions.  Just keep in mind they are opinions though.  The staff is committed to making sure the reviews aren’t fake, so you can feel confident that the info isn’t biased.

1.  Italofile

Italian blog

Italofile

My blog idol.  I have to limit the amount of times I allow myself to go here each week, otherwise no one would eat at my house and there would never be any clean clothing!  Make sure to read her touching article about her son Dante.  She is a fantastic writer and has several books on travel.

Happy viewing!

copyright 2011 Andi Brown  Once in a Lifetime Travel  

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hey there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg it and personally
    suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

    September 23, 2013
  2. May I suggest http://italoamericano.org to add to your list? It features articles all about Italian culture.

    April 4, 2015

Leave a comment